Childhood Innocence and Ovid’s Myth

I found this picture over the weekend.  It was from when I was innocent enough to believe that black people were black because they had been struck by lightning.  You will have to read the book to get the rest of that story, or at least this old post.  There is such a purity in not knowing.  I don’t have but a couple of pictures of me as a child because foster care wasn’t conducive to keeping up with those and most of my siblings and cousins got what few my grandparents had in their possession.

Susan at six 007

This one is from 1966.  It was before the first real tragedy in my life, when innocence was the essence in the eyes that had cried few real tears.

I was babysitting this weekend and it occurred to me that children are so very innocent.  They only know what they learn as they grow, and each is influenced by their own little world that expands as they mature.  Though not a perfect love, I am reminded of Ovid’s Myth…parental artists, we are, that we could mold them and shape them into perfection, but that doesn’t happen, and it shouldn’t.…reality is that they are formed by their own uniqueness and their own experiences.  They are a gift to us that we give back to the world one day.tumblr_lxpnwvgxVY1rn9t9qo1_r1_500

There are so many avenues for advice these days with access to the internet, other media, and all of the Mommy Blogs.  All we can truly do is to try to teach them sound values and morals, give them something to believe in, and trust that they will find their way.

41 thoughts on “Childhood Innocence and Ovid’s Myth

    • Thanks. Pygmalion! It is one of my favorite stories of all time, and interestingly, there are so many variations on the ending. On my old computer, I had a page bookmarked that had dozens of artistic representations of Ovid’s Myth and different endings to the story. I wish I still had that link. Haven’t been able to find it again.

  1. That is such a sweet photo of you! It’s great that your grandchildren have you in their lives–and I’m imagine you’ve taken many photos. 🙂
    This morning I saw this post from you mentioning Ovid, and a message from my daughters’ high school Latin teacher about a get-together we’re going to have. (Both daughters have now graduated from college.) Pygmalion is a fun and interesting story in all of its guises–from Ovid to Shaw to Lerner and Lowe.

Share your thoughts.

