“Red Clay and Roses”: Paperback Progress

004

Got my latest proof in the mail from CreateSpace.

I think the brighter book cover image looks much better.

I am going ahead and accepting this proof and proceeding with the process.  I have been over every word. I am not totally 100% satisfied with it.

  1. There is a place in the book, secondary to a revision, where the pronoun “he” was used, instead of the proper noun “Nathan”.
  2. There is a place where quotation marks were used around an enclosed, handwritten letter erroneously.
  3. The preposition “to” is missing from a sentence.
  4. My chapters were long and I opted to put the chapter titles in the header on the left side.  I know it isn’t customary, but I thought it best, now I am not so sure.

None of the issues are the fault of anyone but me.  I would submit another manuscript and make the changes, but each time I have done that in the past, CreateSpace has screwed up something else, and I don’t want to risk it.  It takes too many days/weeks back and forth to get any changes accomplished.   I do understand now why it takes so long for traditional publishers to get anything accomplished.  It seems the more steps and people involved in the process; the more likely it is to be a lengthier process.

34 thoughts on ““Red Clay and Roses”: Paperback Progress

  1. Authors have to be editors too. This process sounds so very tedious–like teaching college students to write-revise-write-revise, ad infinitum. If I had a hat, I would take it off in deference to your unremitting persistence. You have what it takes, that’s for darn sure!

  2. I’m about to publish a book and am still in the process. I appreciate that you take the time to share this very difficult part of being a writer. If you don’t mind me asking, how would you write and publish differently? What would you change? Thank you and best of luck!

    • As I was telling John, In my mind, with what I have learned in this year alone, my technical execution of the story, the layout using a formulaic novel template, would have been done differently. That would have involved taking A LOT more time to creatively prepare the story content in such a way as would make it more like a novel and less like telling a story. I would have spent more time showing and done less telling.

      As to the publication process, I would have had the eversion and the paperback done by the same company at the same time. Or, given learning the right skill set, I would have prepared myself to go through the self-publishing differently, so as not to involve the third party of an independent publisher.

        • You’re welcome. If anything I can say helps, great. I know that some of what I have had to say sounds discouraging rather than encouraging. I hate coming across that way, but I am trying to be honest. I have learned tons from other authors and bloggers and have been reading more this past two years than I have since high school and college. If I knew then what I know now, the polished product would have been better prepared.

          • You have not been discouraging at all. I knew before I got into this how it would be. It’s great to hear from authors like yourself who have gone or are going through the process. If I did not read such things, it would make me think I am the only one going through it. Thank you for your honesty in sharing your process. I appreciate it.

            • There are some older articles/posts under the publishing category in “Things I Write About” at the bottom of the page speaking to my process with CreateSpace, if you are interested. It would probably make more sense to read them in order. I am not so proud of the articles and will probably delete them all once this whole thing is behind me. I got frustrated early on with them because this has been going on since June 6th, the date I started with them and it hasn’t been pretty.

  3. The brighter cover does look nicer. 🙂 (It’s very common to have a beautiful image on the screen, then to be surprised to see it look darker in print. Even when we expect it to look darker, we often wind up revising the cover based on what we see in print.)

  4. I am so impressed with all of your hard work! As you said, it’s a learning process. There will probably always be something you wish you had done differently, or some mistake you find later. I hope you are still satisfied with it.
    I expect to hear back from my editors this week–and my revision process will begin as I’m working on the next book and trying to meet deadlines. That’s the way it goes! 🙂

    • You are so smart. I can only look back with some minor regret. I had an opportunity to become a writer and I chose a family and nursing career. Those are not regrets. I do have regrets for not pursuing my writing sooner. For not practicing more, even if only as a hobby. As far as the book goes. I am satisfied that it is as good as it ever will be. It is a good book, but I know I can do much better.

      • You are probably a better writer for having those earlier experiences–or if not better–then a different type of writer than you would have been without them. I am still impressed! 🙂

        • Thank you Merrild. Coming from someone who has written as long as you have and as much as you have, I am flattered. I have been asked many times, “If you had it to do over, what would you have done differently?” I plan to address that today in another post. I am grateful for the experience, and for the opportunity to get my words out there.

Share your thoughts.

