Ad Wrap Up Day #1 Ereader News Today

What a success!

It is now 12 midnight and the day is done. “Red Clay and Roses” moved from somewhere in the 200,000s to a place in the 3000s in one day. It also went from not even being listed in the Kindle ratings to being listed at # 44 in category!

·  Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,218 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

Having watched it sit pretty much in the same spot for months with all of my self-marketing efforts on Facebook and the blog it was thrilling to click and see how it has climbed in one day.

This is the first day that I have sold 65 books in one day.  I had only sold 110 total since March 23rd until today.

My conclusion: Yes, Ereader News Today is highly effective!

45 thoughts on “Ad Wrap Up Day #1 Ereader News Today

    • Thanks! I thought it was too. 🙂

      I made myself not look until late in the day and it had sold 43 at that time. Now, just a couple of hours later it has hit #44 and sold 65. So, yes, I am very pleased. Anxious to see how long this will last, and whether or not the improved ranking will also push sells beyond the two day promo.

  1. What’s interesting is that you were able to do that with the price still at $2.99. Makes me wonder if I should have pricing oops the next time I get a book on ereadernewstoday. 😉

    • Hahaha! If I did that deliberately, I would be ashamed. What’s funny, is that I later discovered that I could have dropped my price if I had also dropped my royalty. I just didn’t know that at the moment that this all came down.

      But seriously, price wise, I don’t think it was all that important. People will pay $2.99 if they want to read it. I think it has more to do with exposure to the right audience. I am also selling paperbacks at $10.80.

    • Thanks Charles. It was shocking to see that overnight after months at the same spot. Exposure did it, not price. I never did get the book down to 99 cents in time for the promo, It was still at $2.99.

            • Cool. So it probably helps to steady the online ads and spread them out over time. I just checked with KDP and I sold 84 so far, but I haven’t looked to see what the rank did because of that change. Selling more in a short time period pushing up the rankings is what I see with the big guys. Some really great books that were published a while back and became best sellers are now ranking low.

              • I think the genre has an effect on it, but steady seems to work well for romance and historical fiction. My genre seems to require an opening blast of ‘look at me’ to get up the rankings. Are you still having the eReader News Today effect?

                • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,573 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

                  #35 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Literature & Fiction > Literary Fiction > Historical
                  #97 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Literature & Fiction > Historical Fiction
                  #100 in Books > Literature & Fiction > Genre Fiction > Historical

                  I think so. This is what it looked like this morning. Three categories…two by the hair of the teeth.
                  85 total sold not counting paperbacks, only a few paperbacks.

                    • Thanks, Me too.That’s good to know. I know the Law of gravity says what goes up must come down, but I am hoping for a while it stays up. I am also hoping for some word of mouth on the eversion sale to stimulate the paperback sells.

                    • Word of mouth should kick in soon. I’m already seeing my book slipping, but the others did a few on/off moves when they started. After I do my biking and errands today, I’m going to find a few new advertising sites to replace the lost ones.

                    • I know I will lose my 4.9 rating because their will be a lot more opinions on the book if they care to write reviews and some are likely to not be good ones, that is my only concern.

                    • That’s actually a good thing. If you have such a high rating, people may assume reviews are all friends and family. They can report them to Amazon, who will delete them. That happened to me back in April/May. People like a variety of reviews too.

                    • That’s good to know. I have a couple of 3 stars on Goodreads and I noticed last night more people added the book. There I am 4.43 (or something close).

  2. Yay! It is a great book and I think everyone should read it so I’m glad that 65 more people are going to read it now. As far as the pricing, because I was so used to reading mass market books and paying $10-$14 for a kindle edition, I think any of the books under $4.99 are a bargain (and generally better books than mass produced stuff). Just my two cents

    • I was amazed that it jumped that far without the 99 cent offer. I saw also, my “Books that people who also bought this book brought” change as well. Many other people who had bought interracial relations and cultural heritage Historical Fiction also bought RC&R. I am curious to see how the reviews go. I am sure some aren’t going to be great, because people have different taste, but it is exciting just the same.

    • Yes it is! And this morning the Amazon Best Seller Ratings were even better. I joined two more categories by the hair of my teeth! I can’t say enough good things about Ereader News Today.

      • When my publisher put my book on BookBub, I had a similar response. It was lovely. I can’t use eReader News Today, because I can’t lower the price of my e-book on my own. My publisher would have to do it, and I don’t think they will since they already promoted it on BookBub. But it sounds like a great marketing tool.

        • Thanks Carrie. I was supposed to go down to 99 cents for this promo but I couldn’t at the royalty i was at and when ENT notified me that I was going live on their site, it was too late to change over without making the book unavailable during promo time. I offer ENT to pull my book, but they declined and said that they could proceed with the $2.99 price…so win-win. I will try Bookbub next, once these promos are done. Thanks for sharing.

    • Yes! It may be short lived, but I am grateful. The book has moved up overnight as well and it entered two more top 100 categories by the hair of the teeth. I am hoping I can keep up the momentum.

  3. Pingback: Read Tuesday Pre-Sale Teaser for 12/10 Book Sale | ReadTuesday

    • It would be nice if you could get that sort of exposure for your book all of the time, but if you could, so could everyone else and then it would defeat the purpose of the ad.

Share your thoughts.

