In A Nutshell

nutshell

This is my first New Year’s Day as a blogger.  I have spent the last two days reading posts on last year’s highlights and this year’s goals.

It all seems so formal.

I was just chatting with a blogger about how I make a list every day.  I put five things on there that I hope to accomplish by day’s end.  If there is anything left at the end of the day, I roll it over.

Never put on more than five things, so I don’t feel overwhelmed. Never allow the rollovers to make me feel unaccomplished. It is progress.

I have been doing this since the age of 31 and I am 53.  My therapist started this practice, and it stuck.  It works for me. I do this every single day.

I guess that’s about as formal as I ever get with goals and resolutions.  I only have one major goal for 2014:

  1. To put my fingers to the keyboard and write!

That’s all!

  If that is accomplished the rest will come in due time.

Looking back on 2013 I have learned a few things:

  1. I love my Swiffer.
  2. I can cook anything in a cast iron skillet.
  3. Kirby’s are REALLY worth their weight in gold.
  4. WordPress is the greatest place in the world to connect with awesome and inspiring people.
  5. Humans are weird.
  6. Books are books.

No great revelations here. A few observations.  Life is a blast and can be boring all at the very same time.

Happy New Year!

36 thoughts on “In A Nutshell

  1. Great goal! Yup, that’s a good way of taking it out day to day, just a little to do list and try not to make it overwhelming. I really like that idea. I kind of built my Monday goals around that. Keep them simple and achievable and if I don’t make it, well it will just go on next weeks. 😀

    • I noticed that with your Monday goals…realistic,, not too traumatically destructive if they aren’t achieved, but rolled over/continued. I am reminded of my daily lists when I look at them. Sometimes I struggle to come up with five, and sometimes i am tempted to add more, but five is the magic number for me, so five it is. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. Five is my magic number. 🙂 And the number of people in my house. It’s a number with power. I like your system. I do a similar thing involving prioritizing — what are the most important things to do that day, and then try to do those first. Exercise, write, love family. Not necessarily in that order. 🙂 Those are the main three.

  3. “Brevity is the soul of wit.” I like your idea of 5 items on a memo, but I often have a few more and do the roll-over thing too. Also, I like your image, unzipping the good!

    • My cast iron skillet is about 6 generations old, and very well seasoned. Nothing sticks. Cornbread is crispy and casseroles fall right out. I can bake a cake or boil things, deep fry, simmer or saute in that thing.

      My Kirby is my vacuum cleaner. Best suction of any on the market, but cost as much as a small car. It was a gift.

  4. Great goal! I love lists, but mine are usually longer than five items. Sometimes I like to put the kind of stupid everyday tasks on my list, just so I can have the joy of crossing them off after I do them. 🙂 I also do not know what a Kirby is.

    • Kirby, my best sucking vacuum cleaner in the whole world. It was a gift. I couldn’t afford one. Costs as much as a small car.

      I love that joy that goes with crossing things off the list. That’s about the only thing I like about going shopping at the grocery store…crossing things off and that satisfaction of being that much closer to getting the job done 🙂

  5. I have owned two Kirby’s the second one much lighter than the first. 🙂 I should never have sold my cast iron skillet. Regret aside, I love your five item list idea. I don’t know what it is about scratching a line through an item on a list that is most satisfying. I must try this. Write it and make it happen. 🙂

  6. Humans are weird. It is also weird that if you have only been blogging for a year that means we have only known each other a year. Seems like it has been so much longer. Love you!

  7. This seemed very simple, yet very thoughtful! I totally agree with your view on daily tasks to avoid overwhelming ourselves.
    We easily forget our goal, which is to make progress, when we overwhelm ourselves with too many tasks. We feel the need to do more than necessary that we become too hasty. I especially liked your #4 on things you learned in year 2013; I am new to WordPress (Technically started about 2 wks ago) and I am already delighted to see many insightful blogs and comments that people share! Also, I was never fond of reading until last year, so I’m not too sure if I can fully understand what you meant by “books are just books”. I would greatly appreciate it if you could recommend me books to read! Thank you!

    • A pleasure to make your acquaintance!

      Reading is a most subjective experience.

      I would need to know which genre you prefer and what style pleases you. I can say that I don’t typically read romance or fantasy..yet, I have found both that pleased me in this blogosphere through getting to know other writers. I am particularly fond of historical periods in time and read a historical thriller set in pre-war Germany recently that I greatly admired: a self published work titled “Corridor of Darkness” by Patrick O’Bryon. I can see this book appealing to a very large audience.

      I was being sarcastically simple when I said books are books. being a new follower, you wouldn’t know the many articles I have posted on my trials and tribulations, thrills and exhalations, with authoring a book. I could not possibly put what i have learned into a nutshell, but i am currently preparing a post which will air soon, that explains much of what I could not fit into that nutshell…it is a lengthy post.

      If you like fantasy and the active voice of present tense, The Legends of Windemere series is awesome, as is author Charles Yallowitz. His work reads like high quality animee.

      If crime drama or terrorist drama is your thing, good friend John Howell just had his book published and it will be available in eversion on Monday…we can review it together.

      • Pleasure is mine!
        I enjoy reading books with obvious morals that we tend to forget. I know that is a very general point and won’t help you narrow down my preference, but an example would be, “The Little Prince” by Antoine de Saint-Exupery (a topic I will blog about tonight, so please check it out!).
        I love reading others’ blogs that offer great insights and help me open new perceptions! So I would love to read your new post!
        Thank you for the suggestions and I will check out your suggestions when I am done with the book I am reading now!

            • Glad that you did, and may have found something useful in it. When I finish cooking my dinner, I will swing by your blog and take a look at your writing. I am always interested in seeing writers progress. That is the purpose of this blog, to meet other writers and readers on a social level. I am no teacher, just another blogger learning and sharing.

              • hahaha, sweet, thank you so much! I will be sure to edit it before you are done cooking!
                Please be honest with your feedback, though, because that will surely help me improve and help me hone my skills!
                Thank you!

Share your thoughts.

