If You Don’t Enjoy Marketing, You’re Doing It Wrong

If marketing is stressing you and you want your books/series to sell: Read This From David Gaughran!

David Gaughran

Snake-oilI can already feel the heat from approaching pitchforks!

But if you hear me out, I think I can convert at least some of you to the idea that if you don’t enjoy marketing, you’re doing it wrong. Let me explain.

Sometimes marketing can seem like a Sisyphean task. There’s always something you could do to promote your work, and there’s never enough hours in the day. Many writers are already hard-pressed with demands from the rest of their lives and have to battle hard to carve out writing time. The pressure to promote squeezes that precious writing time even further.

On top of that, many marketing tasks just seem unpleasant. Writers can often be introverts who don’t like pressing the flesh – either in cyberspace or meatspace – and the very idea of marketing is hive-inducing. I get that, I really do.

But it doesn’t have to be that…

View original post 1,480 more words

6 thoughts on “If You Don’t Enjoy Marketing, You’re Doing It Wrong

    • I have been following this guy for some time, and was thinking of purchasing his book, “Let’s Get Visible”. One thing he mentions is the expense of Bookbub, a place I was considering placing an ad…he wasn’t kidding. Just checked them out. OUCH!

        • I am debating about genre issues again. My book barely qualifies as historical fiction by date…it isn’t the typical historical fiction of the 1500 to the early 1900s, but it is about a time that was more than 50 years ago…yet, there are many contemporary Issues. I was thinking of doing another promo, but categorizing as contemporary fiction instead of historical. One third of the book actually takes place in 1992-93. You have read the book. What do you think?

          • Oh, that’s a tough one. My first thought was historical fiction, but then I wondered how many people might not get the chance to see the promotion because they don’t tend to read that genre. And as you say, there are many contemporary issues as well. So I guess I’d go with contemporary fiction.

            It’s interesting, because I was reading your book alongside John Grisham’s new one (Sycamore Row) which also deals with racial issues and tensions. I’m not finished with it yet, but it was a great fit to read at the same time as yours. 🙂

            • I think on my next promo, if there is a category for contemporary fiction I am going to try that. I was reading some book reviews a week or so ago and many were 1950s era, but placed in contemporary fiction. Funny, I have not sold a book today and yet I dropped into a historical fiction category top 100 list in historical fiction and lost 200,000 in rank. How the heck does that happen? I think I will do a post and see what the consensus is, if anyone cares to chime in. Thanks for your thoughts on the matter. I love John Grisham and have that on my reader, so will most likely enjoy.

Share your thoughts.

