Sunday Synopsis

This is going to be brief. I got nothing accomplished this week except rewriting one chapter in my WIP.

I completed a couple of interviews, and posted a Goodreads Giveaway that continues through the month of February!

Goodreads Book Giveaway

Red Clay and Roses by S.K. Nicholls

Red Clay and Roses

by S.K. Nicholls

Giveaway ends March 03, 2014.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter to win

My oil didn’t get changed. I still have not scheduled my sensory deprivation experience. My paperback books are waiting to be distributed. This all sounds so terrible. I have a lazy streak these days. I did not even do the laundry. My husband did his own.

I did some serious soul searching this week. Some of you already know this.

To write, not to write.

I decided to write.

I have four five star reviews from Reader’s Favorite and one four star review. I am debating whether or not to use them individually as editorials. Or whether to just pick out a few sentences and make one. I am told either way is acceptable. The girl who wrote about slaves submitted a new one.

I’m iffy about using these, but we paid for them. They refunded my money in full, because of the one book review all about slaves, when there is NOT ONE slave in the book, but I didn’t feel comfortable with the refund, so I had them re-bill me. I would not want to use a service that I did not pay for.

3stooges003

Honey, Daisy and Captain

The picture of the dogs is for cuteness, because I have nothing much else to say, and they look like I feel.

28 thoughts on “Sunday Synopsis

  1. “I have a lazy streak these days.” I soooooooooooooo know how you feel. Wish I could break it.

    “I decided to write.” Good for you. Let me know what I can do to help.

    • Sure thing. I have this in Scrivener. It isn’t breaking the flow of my writing the way that I felt it was with the crime novel. I am having some difficulty with the chapter divisions though. It is a significantly easier method to edit or revise being able to access different scenes in the binder, but I often feel as if I am dividing chapters by scenes rather than relevancy. If that makes sense.

    • I was feeling low after being critiqued into a corner, but my flight or fight says fight. Thanks for stopping by. Cute doggie too BTW 🙂 He looks like he has one of those great big old fashioned thick mustaches.

    • My dogs are my best friends. We hang out together ALL day.

      Yeah. I am still iffy about using them. I did what they suggested, and created one summary review from the four on my Amazon page. I did have four separate five star excerpts for the individual reviews each noted as from Reader’s Favorite and naming the reviewer, but that seemed excessive.

      It is not mainstream genre fiction. So I really don’t know why I worry so much about what somebody will see when they come to the page. Unless it is mainstream, it’s really difficult just to get people interested in looking at the page. Even expensive advertisers don’t want to use up their promotional space on work that is not mainstream.

  2. Yes, I agree, it’s hard to get people interested. There are so many books out there.

    As for dogs, I have a little black schnoodle who thinks he’s supposed to be on Mommy’s lap all day long. He’ll grudgingly agree to lie next to me when I have to work.

    • Don’t you just love when they they think their behinds belong in your lap. I am teaching my pug to be a foot warmer. After playing with him only with my bare feet for weeks and starving him of any other attention, he’s finally taken to task.

      • Last week, Smokey started a new habit of walking right over the notebook I was writing in to get on my lap. But to be fair to him, I think he wanted to get close because he was worried about me. I suspect he’s smelling something different about me because of the radiation therapy. He was much more insistently affectionate last week than usual.

        • Dogs do have an uncanny sense of those sorts of things. There are dogs specially trained to sniffing cancer on human breath.

          They also have remarkable healing capacity. Give Smokey lots of hugs.

  3. It seems like you always get so much done. Everyone is entitled to a lazy day or two–and the dogs are adorable! (I love how their heads are all in the same position.) My two cats are my excuse for not getting anything done right now. They think it’s time for dinner, and they’re eating my papers and knocking things off the table. 🙂

Share your thoughts.

