Happy Anniversary Blog!

one year blogA little trophy popped up in my notifications yesterday telling me this is my anniversary, but it was actually a few days ago. You see, the day I started blogging, I also stopped…for awhile.

This blog is now one year old. It is time for me to tell you my story.

After I published my book, March 27, 2013, making all the mistakes possible to make, a friend suggested I blog. I was clueless. It took me days to get the courage to post. For my first post, I typed in some silly dribble.

I don’t recall how long it took, but a person finally “liked” it, and followed me. I had no idea why.

I followed him back and checked out his site. My subtitle read something about following my journey into social progress. It’s social…it’s supposed to be progress, right?

When I got to his site, I saw his subtitle and I thought it was a joke…some attempt at humor. Then I read his post.

The post on his site was about a sensitive and controversial topic.

Only three people had commented. There were no responses to the comments at that time. Since the site appeared to encourage opinions and discussion, I went to the comments and typed in my own polite opinion. Our opinions differed. I was immediately attacked. There was juvenile name calling. Flaming insults were hurled my way and I could not help but take it personally. I thought, OMG, this is sick. I don’t know if I want to be a part of this social networking world or not. The response was uncivil, indignant, and uncouth. He did everything short of telling me that I was going to burn in hell for feeling the way that I did about the matter.

Maybe he would have done that too if I had stuck around long enough. I was certain that he couldn’t be more than fifteen years old. I chose not to comment back. It was not a very warm reception. An hour or so later I went back to the site.  Apparently he was very popular. The comments were filled by a bunch of people yelling and screaming their opinions, and the blogger was in the thick of it. I thought, Shit…is this what blogging is all about? 

I un-followed him, left and never looked back. I concluded that the blogger had posted his piece, not because he wished to express his thoughts and open the topic to discussion, but because he wished to incite his audience into a fury. After that incident, I was about to give up on this blogging thing. It had no appeal to me.

I went back to my site and tried to find a way to delete a “like”.  I didn’t want anything on my blog associated with this individual. I could not find any way to delete a like with a gravatar image and link, so I deleted my post, trashed it. I thought, If this is the sort of person I am going to attract with my silly dribble, maybe I should post something more serious. I thought I should start over. So I did.

I posted some serious posts, even colored a few serious posts with my own sordid humor, but I also started cruising around and looking at what other people were posting. I found a world of creative writing, gorgeous photography, fantastically imaginative blogs, and pure genius! I found clever wit, immeasurable talent, courage, and deep sensitivity. I found poetic beauty in words and images.

I started posting some of my old poetry. Then I began to comment on other people’s work, and these people were really nice.

Gradually, they began to visit me too.

Before long, we were into discussions and I was learning so very much from you. All of you!

The community I found was warm, accepting, supportive, intelligent, ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!

I wake up in the morning and check my mail. There you all are! My colleagues and companions. I check in with you throughout the day. You give me things to think about. You make me smile. You make me laugh. You keep me delightfully entertained with your imagination and the knowledge you share. I reflect on your words at the end of the day.

You never cease to amaze me.

Many of you have become my very best friends. I cry on your shoulders and you wipe my tears. I fall off and you put me back on. I whine, moan, groan, complain,…and yet, you tolerate me. You have given me guidance, ideas, thoughts, and suggestions. You helped me mold and shape Red Clay and Roses into a marketable product to be proud of. Some of you even GET my humor. Some of you are old friends now, and some of you are new. For all the ways that you are you, I am eternally grateful.

I have my own brand of genius, and I say that jokingly, and you have welcomed me into your worlds.

I am so glad that I did not give up after my experience with that first follower. You are the best!

I am very happy to be here.

 Thank you for making blogging a positive experience!

Comments are disabled.