Transsexual Crime Scene Ponies and Other Such Stuff

 

Illustration by Tres Maxwell

Illustration by Tres Maxwell

Chapter Ten and 21006 words. This is my first crime novel.  It is a lot of fun to write. It exercises both wit and intelligence. It is not without challenges though. I decided to list them here. I am open to suggestions BTW.

  1. I am worried that my characters are going to come across as talking heads.  It is difficult to have serious conversations and exchanges of information while at the same time inserting observational clues into the narrative without giving too much away to the reader.
  2. I have a character that is funny, but I don’t really want her to be cheesy or corndoggy, because she is also smart and deep. (She’s probably going to be anyway…that’s just what it is.) She’s a stereotypical character. I can’t help that. It’s who she is. She is inspired by real life people I know.
  3. It is hard to write funny stuff without making fun of people, which is one thing I want to avoid, if possible. (At least not come across as deliberately hurtful.)
  4. Keeping convoluted plot details straight in your head gets tricky.
  5. Balancing action and idleness while keeping up a steady pace that quickly pushes the story forward is more complex than it sounds.

These are my five whines of the day. And it stormed off and on all day, so I didn’t get to swim (that’s my excuse).

Any suggestions? How was your day?

14 thoughts on “Transsexual Crime Scene Ponies and Other Such Stuff

  1. I have been using the synopsis panel in Scrivener to keep list of highlights, but the tiniest details can be so significant. So now, my synopses are getting longer and longer.

  2. Not sure how to help with a lot of that. In regards to 3, you can make it friendly teasing and ribbing. If the other character smiles or laughs or ribs back then that makes whatever is being said less of an insult. Readers take a lot from a character’s response to such things.

    • Thanks Charles. It would work to do more of that with Brandi-the sidekick, and the detective. If Brandi stabs Richard first and he comes back at her with a tranny joke it wouldn’t come across as so insulting. Probably best not have Richard make her a target without just cause. I have done that a couple of times between them…but Brandi is sort of “out there” about and toward everybody.

      Hard to joke with henchmen without getting slapped.

  3. Thank you for the photo–it gave me my early morning chuckle. 🙂 I’ve never written a novel, so can’t help you there. I know sometimes people keep track of plots/characters on index cards that you can post, shuffle, and move around. I guess that’s the old-fashioned way, but sometimes I like to have actual paper (hence the notes, legal pads, and books all over my kitchen table, along with my lap top), as well as info on my computer. Good luck!
    We’re supposed to have storms and flooded streets today. Hope you get your swim in today. 🙂

    • Thanks! Scrivener has been helpful. But sometimes I don’t feel I use it to its full advantage.

      Our thunderstorms wreck havoc on the roads because we are so close to sea level and have such poor drainage systems.. Nothing like the flooding you would see by a big river though. Also not good for swimming 😦

      • We have a lot of flat ground, rivers, and creeks here in S. Jersey and center city Philadelphia. There are certain areas that always get flooded during heavy rains. I hope you get your swim in soon!

  4. Crime novels, apparently, are one of the hardest to write! So good on you fro giving it a go!

    I can see why those problems might irk you a bit, wish I could help, though I will also be taking note of any advice anyone gives 😀

    By the way, love that pony pic, think it’s pretty darn accurate!

    • I am discovering just how hard writing a crime novel can be. But it is still lots of fun.

      Thanks for stopping by. I always hope something I say or somebody’s comments with be useful to someone else.

Share your thoughts.

