But Tell Me, Where Do The Children Play?

I feel this way about writing in general, not just sci fi/fantasy. censorship appalls me. Reading is what guides us on our journey through life.

mishaburnett

Science fiction used to be the home of dangerous ideas.

Growing up in the 1960’s and 1970’s, I needed that.  I was a strange child, with few friends and no close connections.  I didn’t fit in anywhere, not at home, not at school,  not in the suburban residential neighborhood that I wandered through, lonely as a cloud.

Pretty much the only place that I could feel I belonged was the library.  I read voraciously, and I discovered an entire class of books that dealt with the strange, the things that didn’t fit.  The things like me.

From science fiction I learned that I was not alone, not sui generis. Other people had the same kind of oddball corkscrew mind I had.  Because science fiction (and fantasy, although my hometown library didn’t make that distinction and put everything that was set someplace else in one section) wasn’t supposed to be

View original post 418 more words

One thought on “But Tell Me, Where Do The Children Play?

Share your thoughts.

