Inspiring Spaces Blog Hop: Share What Ignites Your Creativity

This blog hop about writer’s writing spaces was started by Cate Russell-Cole 

The lovely Jade Reyner and the lovely Leigh Michaels tagged me for it. Thanks, Jade and Leigh!

Writers:

~ where do they work and

~ what can’t they write without?

I’ve posted my writing space before. It’s still a mess. It is a corner of my combination den and dining room. My husband’s desk sits to the left of mine and sometimes we bump rolling chairs when he is home. My doggies are often under the desk, keeping my feet warm.

I have neon lights on above the desk. This one shows a man in a sombrero sitting on a key. It means Siesta Key, where my husband lived as a teen. The pennant is hiding the Miller Light sign under the palm tree to keep my husband from craving a beer.

blog tour writing space 002

While I sit at my desk to write, there is a lot more thinking than writing most days and I sit on the porch to do that. I have a corner of an old ragged wicker sofa where I’m comfortable. I also read out there, often into the night. The towels are there because I am in and out of the pool. Sorry about the brown, straggly palm tree. It was once green and lush. The County Extension Office told me to spray soapy water on it to kill a white fungus that was attacking it. It killed the fungus, but it nearly killed the palm. There is some new growth, so I’m leaving it alone to heal itself.

blog tour writing space 004

This is my view from my spot on the sofa. My tropical garden on the other side of the pool. I call it The Jungle. It inspires me to write regional fiction like the neon palm tree and waves do over my desk. Writing involves a lot of thinking, so I am out here as much as I am at my desk. Thank goodness for ceiling fans. It’s my private oasis in the midst of Orlando and has a twenty foot greenwall and an eight foot privacy fence so I can swim nude. Sometimes, I bring the bird out so I can listen to him sing.

blog tour writing space 005

What I can’t do without? Coffee, lots and lots of coffee. I keep a pot going all day then top it off with an ice cold margarita at night followed by a handful of psychotropic meds. It’s what keeps me sane. The chemical cocktail surging through me from morning till bedtime is surely a significant factor in my capacity for creativity. With my mental disorder, you don’t want to know me 100% sober.

Kevin Brennan

Kate Sparkes

Mishka Jenkins

Susan Marie Molloy

Cynthia Reyes

You’ve been tagged!

36 thoughts on “Inspiring Spaces Blog Hop: Share What Ignites Your Creativity

  1. Haha! Great answers. Love the porch space, looks perfect for thinking 🙂 I don’t know that I could function with that mess, so I would probably go to the porch to write. I can also relate to more thinking than writing most days. Definitely couldn’t go without coffee! It’s like oxygen for us writers 🙂

  2. Pingback: Writer’s Workplace Blog Hop | Leigh Michaels

  3. A lot of what you say here rings a bell…okay, MOST of what you mention except I don’t have a window overlooking the pool, or a sun-room. Heck, I don’t have a pool either. Used to have a talking budgie but he’s long gone. 😀 😀 😀

    • I know you have a few fans…LOL…you can play anyway you want to. I didn’t have anybody tagged when I first published because I forgot. Nobody seemed to mind. I think Howell got pinged by Yallowitz already 😦 Ping ’em again, put on the pressure 🙂

  4. Thanks for joining in Susan and I am loving being able to see the places where you all work. You are seriously lucky with the view that you have and I can imagine that it’s pretty hard to stay inside when you have the temptation of that pool. 🙂

  5. You have some lovely spaces to inspire you–and jumping in the pool must be a nice way to take a break. I have lots of clutter (and cats), but I write in my kitchen, so I’m right by the coffee–and I can cook while I write. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  6. Pingback: Inspiration station | WHAT THE HELL

  7. I can write anywhere. Just give me a pad of paper and a pen and I am gone. Homey does not use pencils. As far as booze, Hemingway said, “Write drunk, edit sober.” Sounds like a good philosophy to me. Hiccup.

Share your thoughts.

