How a Novel Can Be Like a Memoir: Guest Blogger SK Nicholls

The lovely Luanne has allowed me to post a guest post on her Writer Site blog. Luanne posts a great deal about memoir writing and memoirs, so this post is about how Red Clay and Roses, a roman a clef, and memoirs compare and contrast.

Writer Site

I read the novel Red Clay and Roses by blogger S.K. Nicholls. In addition to its engaging, well-told story, the book intrigued me with its historic detail and accuracy.  When S.K. and I discussed the real life story behind the book, I saw that the line between a novel and a nonfiction genre, such as memoir, is not always that well-defined. In this case, thank goodness!

So I asked S.K. to talk about the historical nature of her book, without using any spoilers–and here she is!

By the way, you’re going to want to check out her book for yourself!

***

The lovely Luanne has invited me here to her very neat and pleasant blog to tell you a little bit about how writing a roman à clef relates to writing a memoir. I’m a little disorganized. I’ll try not to mess things up too much while I’m here.

View original post 827 more words

Share your thoughts.

