Krazy Couponing and Troopons

time2give_time2save

My daughter has 2.5 kids and stays home to be with the kids while her husband works a couple of jobs. It is a crazy world for young families trying to make ends meet. To help out, she has become one of those crazy couponers. Yes, those people that takes 30 minutes in the check-out line to go through their coupons. But she tries to stay organized so it is a relatively quick process.

She has neat little photo albums she sorts her food and non-food item coupons in and has them organized by dates as well, so she knows which expire first.

Today, she came by and after spending about an hour on my computer, she had seventy-five dollars off of items she usually shops for and twenty-five off on items I use. Giving up the printer ink is not such a bad deal as she prints in black and white. Some, she scans the QR code with her phone.

A hundred dollars an hour is a pretty smart wage, even if it’s just once a week.

Then she checked the buy-one-get-one items at her favorite grocery store and that was another thirty dollars saved. A hundred and five dollars saved on her bill. That’s awesome.

While she was on her computer, the grandson dumped a stack of expired coupons in the garbage and she freaked out. I wondered why she got so terribly upset as I watched her pulling them back out of the top of the trash.

Here’s the deal. If they are not more than thirty days expired, you can send them to military families to use at the PX…so even if she doesn’t chance to use the coupons before they expire they are not gone to waste. Every month, she takes her expired coupons and sends them off. They call them Troopons.

Churches and other organizations can make a project of this, as well.

Here’s a web article that will tell you how:

http://www.supportourtroops.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=1615/

Not so crazy after all!

Do you coupon?

What do you do with the ones you don’t use?

27 thoughts on “Krazy Couponing and Troopons

    • It was pretty thoughtful of her to send them off. I just think of the coupons I tossed from the fliers and newspapers we used to get. Never knew they could help out the troops.There are only two of us, so we let our Sam’s and Costco memberships expire. We just didn’t need the bulk.

  1. I don’t coupon, but I admire those who do. I imagine it takes a lot of work and organization (as your daughter shows). That’s an impressive savings. I hope her husband appreciates her efforts. 🙂

  2. I use coupons when the store has buy one get one free and the item will ring up half price if you only get one. With this type of special, I’ve had the store owe me money for the item. I don’t have an organized notebook like your daughter, that’s impressive.

    • That’s so cool! I know she came out of the grocery store a couple of times saying they actually owed her money because she used coupons on sale items. Every manufacturer has a web site now and you can usually find a coupon there. Sometimes she even signs up for special offers like she did with her daughter’s milk free So-delicious coconut ice cream. They sent her eight free pint coupons. Her daughter was so happy, because that stuff isn’t very affordable.

  3. I love shopping here in the UK. I buy all my groceries online, and just before checkout there’s a link to all the coupons available. I just tick the boxes of the appropriate ones, and voila! Tons of savings. But I’m remembering when we first moved to Seattle. My son was in high school, so I went to what I *thought* would be the PTA meeting. I should have been suspicious when I got to the parking lot and it was filled with ginormous late-model luxury SUVs. Then I got inside and a bunch of designer-clad parents (all women) were sitting around talking about the need to raise money for graduation. All graduations I’d ever been to seemed to happen in the gym, with the marching band and maybe jazz band providing the entertainment. But I figured they did things different here in the Emerald City, so I didn’t say anything. Until they started pulling out stacks of newspapers and everyone got busy clipping coupons. And as they did, one designer-mom got up and started explaining that we were going to go to the local grocery stores and spend four hours each taping coupons to the products they represented. THEN when people get the coupon-bedecked product to the counter, the consumer would be offered the choice of using the discount on his/her purchase or donating it to the high school?

    WTF? I had four kids, a very needy dog, two cats and a consuming new job. I did a quick calculation of what four hours of my time was worth to that new employer and spoke up. “Why are we doing this? Can’t I just give you some money? Or couldn’t we hold graduation in the gym like everyone else?”

    There was a collective indrawn hiss of designer-mom-breath. First, of all, I was informed, the school district provided a budget for the graduation venue. No, THIS was to collect money for the graduation party. On a yacht. With prize drawings. Like a new car.

    I would like to say I told them what they could do with their yacht and prize cars. But of course, I just turned on my mobile volume so the next text from my kids [need pizza, whrz $?] beeped and I said there was a family emergency.

    Whenever I saw one of those coupons taped to a product, I told the checkout clerk that I wanted that discount, even if it meant some kid on a yacht had to make do without a prize car.

  4. It’s really wonderful of her to support the troops like that. I’ve watched that show – Extreme Couponing – where they end up with piles and piles of things for ten cents and so on. Very exciting and quite a job too, not to mention that not wasting is one of the best qualities anyone can have.

  5. That’s great that your daughter is able to save so much! I know there are people who are really into it and great at it–and who can find all sorts of deals. I’m not one of them. I don’t really use coupons, except for special ones from CVS or department stores. Congratulations on your secret. 😉

Share your thoughts.

