An Open Letter To WordPress

WordPress. This should be Freshly Pressed. I also don’t like how to get to my site now. It used to be easy to just click site in the right hand drop down on my gravitar. That’s not there anymore. I don’t want to see a trophy case or find friends. I just want to get back to my page after visiting others. STOP FIXING THINGS THAT AREN’T BROKEN. You’re screwing up!!!

Fish Of Gold

Dear WordPress.com,

I am loath to write yet another letter to you, since I typically prefer to spend my time writing actual blog posts, but I’ve been bitching on Twitter and in your forums to no avail, so maybe you’ll pay attention to a blog post. It’s not likely, but hey, you never know.

Please, stop. Just put down whatever you’re working on and stop with the futzing. You have been tinkering under my hood long enough and you know what? None of the “improvements” you’ve made are actually improvements.

Below, you will find explanations as to why your improvements aren’t improvements sorted conveniently by feature.

Post Editor

Let’s talk about this “Beep beep boop” post editor nightmare with less than half the functionality of the old editor. Thankfully, you haven’t taken away the old editor yet. However, I fully expect that one day, I will go to write a…

View original post 1,088 more words

16 thoughts on “An Open Letter To WordPress

  1. Yes, this is a great post. I don’t know why WP had to go and change the comment notification bar. It’s much less user friendly now. This is the first time I put up a post since the change, and it’s more difficult to keep up with my comments this way than with the old notification page. Grrr.

    • I’m going nuts. They kept experimenting and now I guess they’ve decided to keep this. I’ve referred dozens of writer friends from different writer groups to WP. I may stop doing that and move on myself. I would sure miss my this community. I can’t help but think there are folk on the payroll trying to prove their worth. Sucks! Have them work for customer service instead of tech.

  2. I despise the new everything about the new WordPress. I am still using the old editor–In regard to the new, nothing is easy anymore. The information I need to see is no longer where I need to see it–and on the reader stats page there is NO information that I can use, so I am also constantly going down to the bottom of the page and manually switching to the old format. I need information and functionality. These new formats for posting and getting stats do not offer either of those to me. I would gladly obey the monkeys in charge of this grand scheme and switch if the fine people at WP offered me something that worked as was described. One of the biggest complaints I hear about Facebook is that the people there keep changing it up and’ fixing’ what isn’t broken–is this just to provide busywork for highschool students, or what?

    • I’m convinced there are people tasked with making “improvements” that are required to do SOMETHING, and that’s why things keep evolving. I’m terribly dissatisfied.

  3. I miss being able to see what search terms led to my blog in the past week/month/quarter. It was entertaining.

    Okay, infuriating when people were looking for free PDF copies of my book, but still fun.

Share your thoughts.

