Waking Up

This is where I was this morning. My friend Becky has such a beautiful way with words. I couldn’t help but share it. After I read it, I was feeling so much better.

The Transparent Author

WP_20141229_001

This morning I woke up in a horrible funk…once again angry at myself for all the ways I’ve declared myself a failure. It seems to be a pattern lately, waking up in despair.

So, since it’s Sunday and I don’t have to get the kids off to school I decided to try something different. I slipped on some clothes and walked down to the beach. When I got there the morning sky was glowing, rays of sunlight pouring through the clouds onto the ocean’s surface.

I stepped in the sand and did my morning “yoga” prayer to the sea, then settled myself on a step at the beach walkover. With no particular plan I ripped out half a page out of a notebook I had brought along. I then began scrawling all the things I “hated” about myself—all those things that ran through my head while I laid in bed…

View original post 270 more words

6 thoughts on “Waking Up

  1. This line in the post reminded me of one more thing to be thankful for: “I slipped on some clothes and walked down to the beach.” I can’t walk to Jacksonville Beach, but I can drive 12 miles and be there, enjoying all the sensations “The Transparent Author” described.

  2. That was utterly beautiful. It takes me four hours to reach the nearest beach, but I always feel a sense of contentment there, especially early mornings when the sun is just beginning to rise. Loved this!

Share your thoughts.

