The Boundless Spirit

Each day is a little life: every waking and rising a little birth, every fresh morning a little youth, every going to rest and sleep a little death. ~ Arthur Schopenhauer

Death does not come when the body is too exhausted to live. Death comes because the brilliance inside of us can only be contained for so long. We do not die. We pass on.

The vessel dies, but the Spirit lives on.

Our greatest human adventure is the evolution of consciousness. We are in this life to enlarge the soul, liberate the spirit, and light up the brain. The next greatest adventure is death. Death is the natural progression of the human spirit. Not the end, but a new beginning in a realm we cannot fathom.

The human body has limitations. The human spirit is boundless.

We fear death so profoundly, not because it means the end of our body, but because it means the end of our consciousness as we know it.

A couple of weeks ago, my father’s spirit passed on into its next adventure. A few days ago my granddaughter’s spirit entered a body that took its first breath and cried its first cry. She began her evolution of consciousness. Into her father’s hands, she felt her first touch, opened her eyes and saw her mother’s face.

When you have lost people like I lost my birth mom at a young age and you remember the whole process of losing her, you want to grab on to something that makes you whole.

My children and career have given me that sense of wholeness, and my husband compliments that. Watching the grandchildren enter this world, looking down at them looking up at me, gives me a sense of continuity that I do not believe I would have achieved had I decided to remain childless.

The God of our understanding has entrusted us to participate in the enlargement of her soul, liberation of her spirit, and the lighting up of her brain. For that and all things, I am grateful.

baby Kira birth pictures 050315 064

Lightning Crashes~ Live

Lightning crashes, a new mother cries
Her placenta falls to the floor
The angel opens her eyes; the confusion sets in
before the doctor can even close the door
Lightning crashes, an old mother dies
Her intentions fall to the floor
The angel closes her eyes;
the confusion that was hers
belongs now to the baby down the hall
Oh now feel it coming back again
like a rolling thunder chasing the wind
forces pulling from the center of the earth again
I can feel it
Lightning crashes, a new mother cries
This moment she’s been waiting for
The angel opens her eyes –
pale blue coloured iris – presents the circle
and puts the glory out to hide, hide
Oh now feel it coming back again
like a rolling thunder chasing the wind
forces pulling from the center of the earth again
I can feel it – I can feel it
I can feel it coming back again
like a rolling thunder chasing the wind
forces pulling from the center of the earth again
I can feel it
I can feel it coming back again
like a rolling thunder chasing the wind
forces pulling from the center of the earth again
I can feel it
I can feel it coming back again
like a rolling thunder chasing the wind
forces pulling from the center of the earth again
I can feel it – I can feel it – I can feel it

44 thoughts on “The Boundless Spirit

  1. This is beautiful. I love the concept of continuity. When one life goes, another enters. And I’ve always loved the lyrics to that Live song. Congratulations on your new granddaughter. What a beautiful moment.

    1. Thank you, Carrie. It is continuity that makes life such a special thing. Whether we have children or touch the world in some other way, our spirit brushes past and moves on. For me, personally, the receipt and passing on has meaning.

    1. Thanks, Charles. Her little fingers seemed so fragile. And to think, she’ll probably be using them to pull her big sister’s hair before too long. HA!

    1. Thank you, Mae. I liked it best because she is staring directly up at me. Not sure what she was able to see, my form maybe, but there was a connection. 🙂

    1. Thanks, John. My sons aren’t eager to have kids. Bryan and Sarah have talked about it as a possibility, but they aren’t jumping at the bit. Daniel is content without a woman in his life. Andrew isn’t planning anything either. Katrina is about done at three (so she says). This may be our last little one.

  2. Susan, congratulations on the beautiful new addition to your family! Such a blessing and on the heels of your father’s passing, too. Xoxo

    1. Yeah. It’s kinda strange, but my first granddaughter was born on the anniversary of my mother’s death. My first grandson was born on her birthday. This one was close to my father’s death. Puts happiness into what might be dreary circumstances.

    1. But a moment in time. I asked my grandmother once if she thought I would live to see the end of the world. She answered, “Every day you wake up and put your feet on the floor the world has ended as you knew it to be yesterday.” I stopped worrying about it.

  3. These words of yours are beautiful: Our greatest human adventure is the evolution of consciousness. We are in this life to enlarge the soul, liberate the spirit, and light up the brain.

    February was an eventful month for us in 1977. Days after my dad died in the United States, my sister’s son was born. My mother-in-law died the same week in Singapore, and my sister-in-law had a baby girl a few days after that. We lived in the Philippines then. I flew back home, and two days later my husband heard that his mom had died unexpectedly. He left our three daughters with an old college friend and flew to Singapore. Our sadness was soon followed by the joy of two new lives.

    1. Wow…so much going on in such a short period of time….and all around the world. We are most certainly spiritually connected by forces we can only begin to try to understand.

  4. I am finally catching up on blogs. Your new granddaughter is absolutely precious. I love that photo of you and her. Congratulations to you and to her parents!

  5. What a powerful and beautiful post. Great song, too! Congratulations on the new baby. We’re waiting for the call too. Another girl. Your precious granddaughter is absolutely beautiful. Great picture!

  6. I find the thought that as one soul departs this world, another enters it. The circle of life. It’s a beautiful thing.

    Beautiful, too, is your lovely granddaughter. Warm congratulations, my friend.

    1. Thank you Kate, It is the circle of life. my grandson was born on my mother’s birthday and my first granddaughter was born on the anniversary of my mother’s death making it a much more joyous time for me.

Share your thoughts.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.